IWES 2023
Second Italian Workshop on Energy Storage  
25-27 January 2023

This workshop aims at gathering together the scientists and engineers working on batteries in public bodies (universities and national labs) and in private companies from the Italian community and beyond. The goal is to organize an interactive forum, where research achievements and goals can be shared easily and safely among all the battery stakeholders. The scientific program will feature selected presentations related to topics that cover fundamental and applied research in electrochemical energy storage.


& Hotel reservation


The workshop will be in person (live) in Bressanone at the Hotel Gruner Baum,
Please check the registration page for the room reservation (recommended by December 13th).

Important dates



To be updated


IWES2023 - lecture awards

Among all participants to the IWES 2023 meeting three oral presentations will be  selected for a special honour. The Organizing Committee acknowledges the Sponsors for their generosity. The award selection committee is formed by Prof. Catia Arbizzani (Italian representative of the International Society of Electrochemistry), Prof. Vito Di Noto (President of the Electrochemical Division of the Italian Society of Chemistry) and Prof. Claudio Gerbaldi (President of the GISEL association).

Workshop proceedings

The conference proceedings will be published on an established international peer reviewed Journal in the field of battery science. More details will be shared as soon as possible


Organizing Committee

Francesca Soavi, Univ. Bologna (co-chair)

Claudio Gerbaldi, Politecnico di Torino (co-chair)

Akiko Tsurumaki, Sapienza Univ. Rome

Alessandro Piovano, Politecnico di Torino

Cataldo Simari, Univ. Calabria

Federico Poli, Univ. Bologna


Scientific Committee

Piercarlo Mustarelli, Univ. Milan Bicocca
Ana Belen Munoz Garcia, Univ. Naples Federico II
Laura Meda, ENI
Vincenzo Baglio, CNR
Francesco Nobili, Univ. Camerino
Riccardo Ruffo, Univ. Milan Bicocca
Eliana Quartarone, Univ. Pavia
Sergio Brutti, Sapienza Univ. Rome
Francesca Soavi, Univ. Bologna
Claudio Gerbaldi, Politecnico di Torino
Catia Arbizzani, Univ. Bologna
Gianni Appetecchi, ENEA
Benedetto Bozzini, Politecnico di Milano
Maria Assunta Navarra, Sapienza Univ. Rome
Isabella Nicotera, Univ. Calabria
Giuseppe Antonio Elia, Politecnico di Torino
Stefania Ferrari, D'Annunzio Univ. Chieti–Pescara
Michele Pavone, Univ. Naples Federico II
Cristina Tealdi, Univ. Pavia
Silvia Bodoardo, Politecnico di Torino
Margherita Moreno, ENEA
Alessandra Di Blasi, ITAE
Francesca De Giorgio, CNR
Vittorio Pellegrini, IIT
Vito Di Noto, Univ. Padua

Conference flyer is available from here

To be updated



The IWES workshop is organized under the partnership of National Interuniversity Consortium of Materials Science and Technology (INSTM), Electrochemistry Division of Italian Chemical Society (SCI), and International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE), supporting our event.